B*I*N*G*O 

Nuit Blanche - Saturday, March 2, 2019

La Guilde, in collaboration with artist Sylvain Rivard, invites you to B*I*N*G*O on March 2, from 8 p.m. to 1 a.m. As part of the 16th edition of Nuit blanche à Montréal and presented by MONTRÉAL EN LUMIÈRE, the gallery in just a few hours will turn its space into an Indigenous bingo night. In a high-energy ambience, Sylvain Rivard (Quebecer-Abenaki) who will be joined by three Indigenous artists (Huron-Wendat, Mohawk and Inuit) will invite the public to play bingo, while the artists take turns calling out the winning combinations in Indigenous languages from the Quebec territory, as well as in both colonial languages: French and English. Equipped with traditional bingo cards and red and blue bingo dabbers, the artists and players will be the active participants in the game. They will also become key elements in the creation of a collective artwork carried out by Sylvain Rivard himself thanks to the dabbed bingo cards.

Each participant will have to rent a bingo dabber ($1) in order to be able to play a bingo game. A maximum of 25 people (artists and participants included) will be able to play at the same time. Each participant can decide to leave the game, and their spot will be taken over by another person.

 

EVENING PROGRAM​

8 to 9 p.m. – Live installation

9 to 9:30 p.m. – Spoken word by Guy Sioui Durand

9:30 p.m. to 1 a.m. – Bingo games

SYLVAIN RIVARD​​

Sylvain Rivard is a multidisciplinary artist and French Canadian from the Abenaki Nation. He is specialized in First Nations arts and culture. His extensive knowledge has led him to work as a museum curator. His work in visual arts was exhibited at the Grande Bibliothèque in Montreal, at the Huron-Wendat Museum in Wendake, at the Maison de la culture Ahuntsic-Cartierville, at Musée des Abénakis in Odanak and at the Maison des gouverneurs in Sorel-Tracy. He is also the author and illustrator of three youth publications.

GUY SIOUI DURAND

Guy Tsie8ei 8aho8en yatshih, Wendat endi’, Yanariskwa’ iwayitiohkou’tenh, Wendake ekwayehtih, Teyiatontariye indare.

 

From the Huron-Wendat Nation in Wendake, Guy Sioui Durand is a member of the wolf clan. He is a sociologist (Ph.D.), art critic, independent curator, renowned speaker, author, performer and spoken word artist that expresses Indigenous orality. Contemporary and Indigenous art are his areas of focus. He is the president of Éditions Intervention in Quebec and a member of the performance art group Le tas invisible from Quebec and Bbeyond from Belfast (as an international member).

 

NINA SEGALOWITZ

In true traditional Inuit culture, Nina Segalowitz is a throat singer. She has performed in several European countries, in the United States and across Canada alongside several groups and singers, including Ariane Moffat. In June of 2017, the public was touched by her own personal Sixties Scoop story about her being taken from her mother and placed with a foster family.


 

MARTIN AKWIRANORON LOFT
Engraver, photographer and founding member of the Native Indian/Inuit Photographers’ Association, Martin Akwiranoron Loft serves as Cultural Supervisor at the KOR Cultural Centre in Kahnawake. His works are exhibited at the McCord Museum in Montreal, at the Musée de la civilisation in Quebec and at the National Museum of the American Indian.

Logo Montréal en lumière

© La Guilde canadienne des métiers d'art

Gallery: 1356 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal (QC), H3G 1J1

Administration: 1350 Sherbrooke St. W., suite 400, Montreal (QC), H3G 1J1

514.849.6091

NB19_logo.png
MEL19_logo_coul.png

B*I*N*G*O

Nuit Blanche - samedi 2 mars 2019

La Guilde, en collaboration avec l’artiste Sylvain Rivard, vous invite le 2 mars prochain de 20 h à 01 h à B*I*N*G*O. Dans le cadre de la 16e édition de la Nuit blanche à Montréal et présentée par MONTRÉAL EN LUMIÈRE, la galerie recrée l’espace de quelques heures, une soirée bingo autochtone. Dans une ambiance survoltée, Sylvain Rivard (Québécois-Abénaki), accompagné de trois artistes autochtones (Huron-Wendat, Mohawk et Inuit), invitent le public à venir jouer au bingo, alors que les artistes vont tour-à-tour déclamer les combinaisons gagnantes dans les langues autochtones présentes sur le territoire québécois, de même que dans les deux langues des colonisateurs : soit le français et l’anglais. Munis de cartes de bingo traditionnelles et de tampons rouges et bleus, les artistes et les spectateurs seront les participants actifs du jeu, mais deviendront également les éléments essentiels de la création d’une oeuvre collective qui sera réalisée par Sylvain Rivard à l’aide des cartes tamponnées.

 

Chaque participant devra louer un tampon (1 $) afin de pouvoir jouer une partie de bingo. Un maximum de 25 personnes (artistes et public confondus) pourront jouer en même temps. Chaque participant peut décider de quitter le jeu et sera remplacé par une autre personne qui prendra alors sa place.

++ Consommations et friandises seront en vente sur place et un cadeau sera remis aux cinquante premiers joueurs.  Par ailleurs dix lots seront à gagner lors de cette soirée.

 

 

Programme de la soirée

20 h à 21 h - Installation en présence du public

21 h à 21 h 30 - Harangue performée de Guy Sioui Durand autour du bingo

21 h 30 à 01 h - Parties de bingo

 

 

Sylvain Rivard

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Sylvain Rivard, d’origine canadienne française et abénakise, se spécialise tout particulièrement en arts et cultures des Premières Nations. Ses connaissances accrues l’amène à oeuvrer en tant que consultant auprès des institutions muséales. Son travail en art visuel a été exposé à La Grande Bibliothèque de Montréal, au Musée Huron-Wendat de Wendake, à La Maison de la culture Ahuntsic/Cartierville, au Musée des Abénakis d’Odanak, ainsi qu’à La Maison des Gouverneurs de Sorel/Tracy. Il est aussi l’auteur et l’illustrateur de trois publications jeunesse.

 

 

Guy Sioui Durand

Guy Tsie8ei 8aho8en yatshih, Wendat endi’, Yanariskwa’ iwayitiohkou’tenh, Wendake ekwayehtih, Teyiatontariye indare.

Wendat (Huron) originaire de Wendake, Guy Sioui Durand est membre du clan du Loup. Sociologue (PH.D.), critique d’art, commissaire indépendant, conférencier de renom, auteur et performeur, Sioui crée aussi des harangues performées exprimant l’oralité amérindienne. L'art actuel et l'art amérindien sont ses domaines d’intervention. Il est président des Éditions Intervention de Québec et membre des collectifs d’art-performance Le tas Invisible (Québec) et Bbeyond International (Belfast).

 

 

Nina Segalowitz

Dans la plus pure tradition de la culture Inuit, Nina Segalowitz donne des performances de chant de gorge. Elle a donné des spectacles dans plusieurs pays en Europe, aux États-Unis et à travers le Canada aux côtés de plusieurs groupes et chanteurs incluant Ariane Moffat. En juin 2017, son récit sur les sixties scoop qu’elle a vécu directement en étant enlevée à sa mère pour être confiée à une famille adoptive a touché le public.



 

Martin Akwiranoron Loft

Graveur, photographe et membre fondateur du Native Indian Inuit Photographers’ Association, M. Loft occupe le poste de superviseur culturel au KOR Cultural Centre à Kahnawake. Ses œuvres furent exposées au Musée McCord à Montréal, au Musée de la Civilisation à Québec ainsi qu’au National Museum of the American Indian.

Please reload

© La Guilde canadienne des métiers d'art

Galerie : 1356 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal (QC), H3G 1J1

Administration : 1350, rue Sherbrooke Ouest suite 400, Montréal (QC), H3G 1J1

514.849.6091