GRIFFE, CONTEMPORARY FINE LEATHER CRAFTSMANSHIP

March 23 to April 23, 2016

The Canadian Guild of Crafts and the Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal (CMCM) are eager to present Griffe, Contemporary Fine Leather Craftmanship, putting forward originality and craftsmanship within the best leatherwork and leather cladding creations. This will also constitute the first Guild exhibition focusing solely on fine leather craftsmanship. From March 23 to April 23, 2016, the Guild welcomes you to discover the fascinating work of twelve professional and emerging artists and artisans who have been selected following a call for submissions. All of the chosen artworks are highly bold and innovative, either by the techniques or the materials used, since they all go beyond the simple functionality of the object. 

Gathering the works of Jennifer Beaudoin-Boisvert, Corinne bourget et Robin Sirois, Jérôme Daneau-Pitre, Ana María Del Valle Pinzón, Maylissa François, Niki Jessup, Claire Kusy, Jordan Lajoie, Diane Lefebvre, Émilie Longchamps and Emmanuelle Michalet, Griffe, Contemporary Fine Leather Craftmanship is foremost a showcase for Quebec’s contemporary fine leather craftsmanship highlighting the exceptionally skilled local artists and artisans. 


SPECIAL ACTIVITIES

The Guild welcomes you once more for a workshop/artist talk about the various leatherwork and leather cladding techniques. This activity will be held at the Guild, Friday, April 1st, 2016, from 6 to 8 P.M. and will be conducted by Laurence Drubigny from the Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal assisted by Jérôme Daneau-Pitre, an exhibiting artist and student graduating from the CMCM. Free admission. 

Also, Tuesday, April 5, 2016, from 5:30 to 7:30 P.M. the Guild invites you to The Slow Made – Tendance cuir, a meet and greet with fashion accessory designer Marie-Anne Miljours, creator of the Montreal based brand MATU. Free admission.

 


GRIFFE, CONTEMPORARY FINE LEATHER CRAFTSMANSHIP

The exhibition theme was inspired by the pricking iron or pricking wheels, tools that are necessary for leather craftsmanship (griffe in French). Furthermore, the word “griffe” has multiple meanings such as a signature, a trademark, connecting it with the fashion world; but let’s not forget that “griffe”, literally translated as claw, is also a natural defence system for a variety of animals. This last idea leads us to the meaning of scratching. If you scratch someone, you leave a mark, an imprint on that person. Therefore, the definitions being variable, what does “griffe” represent for each artist and artisan taking part in this exhibition? Come and see for yourself! 

 


THE CENTRE DES MÉTIERS DU CUIR DE MONTRÉAL

Ornamental leather work, originally of European tradition, remained very little known here; it was about time that the North American public discover the quality and originality of the creations made locally. For this very reason, the Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal’s mission has always been to promote and bring out the best in leather crafting and to represent their artisans’ skills in Quebec and on the international stage. The Centre, a post-secondary education establishment, has been making every effort education-wise and in terms of research on leather crafts, as well as their promotion. Over time, it has become the gatekeeper of a specific skill set, which, had it not existed, would have been threatened. Each of the Centre’s members, whether a student, teacher or artisan, is personally an ambassador of their own craft, of a culture that needs to be preserved.

© La Guilde canadienne des métiers d'art

Gallery: 1356 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal (QC), H3G 1J1

Administration: 1350 Sherbrooke St. W., suite 400, Montreal (QC), H3G 1J1

514.849.6091

GRIFFE, MÉTIERS DU CUIR ACTUELS

Du 23 mars au 23 avril 2016

 

La Guilde canadienne des métiers d’art et le Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal (CMCM) sont fiers de présenter l’exposition GRIFFE, MÉTIERS DU CUIR ACTUELS, qui mettra de l’avant les meilleures réalisations de maroquinerie et de gainage alliant originalité et savoir-faire. Il s’agira par le fait même de la première exposition se penchant sur les métiers du cuir à la Guilde. Du 23 mars au 23 avril 2016, la Guilde vous invite à découvrir le travail fascinant de douze artistes et artisans du cuir professionnels et émergents qui ont été sélectionnés suite à un appel de dossiers. Les techniques et les matériaux utilisés dans les œuvres choisies pour cette exposition font preuve d’une dose d’audace et d’innovation, puisqu’elles vont au-delà de la fonction d’objet. 

Réunissant les œuvres de Jennifer BEAUDOIN-BOISVERT, Corinne BOURGET et Robin SIROIS, Jérôme DANEAU-PITRE, Ana María DEL VALLE PINZÓN, Maylissa FRANÇOIS, Niki JESSUP, Claire KUSY, Jordan LAJOIE, Diane LEFEBVRE, Émilie LONGCHAMPS et Emmanuelle MICHALET, l’exposition GRIFFE se veut tout d’abord une vitrine sur les métiers du cuir actuels au Québec qui mettra en lumière le savoir-faire exceptionnel des artistes et artisans d’ici. 

Le vernissage aura lieu à la Guilde le mercredi 23 mars 2016, de 18 h à 20 h. Plusieurs des artistes seront présents afin de rencontrer le public et les médias. 

ACTIVITÉS SPÉCIALES
La Guilde vous invite également à être des nôtres pour un atelier-causerie sur les différentes techniques employées en gainage et en maroquinerie. Cette activité aura lieu à la Guilde, le vendredi 1er avril 2016 de 18 h à 20 h et sera animée par Laurence Drubigny du Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal, accompagnée par Jérôme Daneau-Pitre, un artiste-exposant, finissant du CMCM. Entrée gratuite. 

Également, la Guilde organise une rencontre avec la designer d’accessoires de mode Marie-Anne Miljours, créatrice de la marque montréalaise MATU, le Mardi 5 avril 2016, de 17 h 30 à 19 h 30. Entrée gratuite. 

GRIFFE, MÉTIERS DU CUIR ACTUELS
Outil indispensable au travail du cuir, la griffe, qu’elle soit à molettes ou à frapper, s’est imposée d’elle-même comme thématique de l’exposition. De plus, le mot « griffe » ayant plusieurs significations, il renvoie autant à une signature qu’à une marque, d’où son association avec le monde de la mode; mais une griffe est aussi une arme naturelle. Si l’on pousse la réflexion plus loin dans ce sens, le fait de griffer une personne, c’est lui laisser son empreinte, la marquer. Donc, si les sens du mot sont multiples, que représente la griffe pour chacun des exposants ? Venez le découvrir ! 

LE CENTRE DES MÉTIERS DU CUIR DE MONTRÉAL
La maroquinerie, de tradition européenne à l’origine, est demeurée trop peu connue ici; il était temps que le grand public de l’Amérique du Nord découvre la qualité et l’originalité des créations réalisées à leurs portes. C’est la raison pour laquelle dès sa fondation, le Centre des métiers du cuir a eu pour mission de promouvoir et de valoriser les métiers du cuir et de représenter le savoir-faire de ses artisans au Québec et sur la scène internationale. Établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire, le Centre déploie ses efforts sur le plan de l’éducation et de la recherche en métiers du cuir, ainsi que leur promotion. Il est devenu le gardien d’un savoir qui, sans lui, aurait été menacé et chacun de ses membres — enseignants, étudiants ou artisans — est l’ambassadeur d’un métier, d’une culture qu’il faut continuer à préserver.

Please reload

© La Guilde canadienne des métiers d'art

Galerie : 1356 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal (QC), H3G 1J1

Administration : 1350, rue Sherbrooke Ouest suite 400, Montréal (QC), H3G 1J1

514.849.6091